Why Christian Faith Still Makes Sense

In recent years the Christian faith has been challenged by skeptics, including the New Atheists, who claim that belief in God is simply not reasonable. Here prominent Christian philosopher C. Stephen Evans offers a fresh, contemporary, and nuanced response. He makes the case for belief in a personal God through an exploration of natural "signs," which open our minds to theistic possibilities and foster belief in the Christian revelation. Evans then discusses why God's self-revelation is both authoritative and authentic. This sophisticated yet accessible book provides a clear account of the evidence for Christian faith, concluding that it still makes sense to believe.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : C. Stephen Evans
  • Publisher : Baker Academic
  • Pages : 160 pages
  • ISBN : 9780801096600
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKWhy Christian Faith Still Makes Sense

Why Christian Faith Still Makes Sense

Why Christian Faith Still Makes Sense
  • Author : C. Stephen Evans
  • Publisher : Baker Academic
  • Release : 19 May 2015
GET THIS BOOKWhy Christian Faith Still Makes Sense

In recent years the Christian faith has been challenged by skeptics, including the New Atheists, who claim that belief in God is simply not reasonable. Here prominent Christian philosopher C. Stephen Evans offers a fresh, contemporary, and nuanced response. He makes the case for belief in a personal God through an exploration of natural "signs," which open our minds to theistic possibilities and foster belief in the Christian revelation. Evans then discusses why God's self-revelation is both authoritative and authentic.

Unapologetic

Unapologetic
  • Author : Francis Spufford
  • Publisher : Faber & Faber
  • Release : 04 September 2012
GET THIS BOOKUnapologetic

Unapologetic is a brief, witty, personal, sharp-tongued defence of Christianity, taking on Dawkins' The God Delusion and Christopher Hitchens' God is Not Great. Its argument is that Christianity is recognisable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the bits of our lives advertising agencies prefer to ignore. It's a book for believers who are fed up with being patronised, for non-believers curious about how faith

Why Christian Faith Still Makes Sense (Acadia Studies in Bible and Theology)

Why Christian Faith Still Makes Sense (Acadia Studies in Bible and Theology)
  • Author : C. Stephen Evans
  • Publisher : Baker Academic
  • Release : 12 May 2015
GET THIS BOOKWhy Christian Faith Still Makes Sense (Acadia Studies in Bible and Theology)

In recent years the Christian faith has been challenged by skeptics, including the New Atheists, who claim that belief in God is simply not reasonable. Here prominent Christian philosopher C. Stephen Evans offers a fresh, contemporary, and nuanced response. He makes the case for belief in a personal God through an exploration of natural "signs," which open our minds to theistic possibilities and foster belief in the Christian revelation. Evans then discusses why God's self-revelation is both authoritative and authentic.

The Reason Why

The Reason Why
  • Author : Mark Mittelberg
  • Publisher : Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
  • Release : 01 April 2011
GET THIS BOOKThe Reason Why

Everyone wants to believe in something beyond or someone bigger than themselves, but nobody wants to be duped. In order to provide answers to people who are seeking the truth, Mark Mittelberg updates for today the classic book by Robert Laidlaw that sold millions, The Reason Why. This short book gives clear, concise reasons why belief in God makes sense.

True Paradox

True Paradox
  • Author : David Skeel
  • Publisher : InterVarsity Press
  • Release : 28 September 2014
GET THIS BOOKTrue Paradox

Foreword Review's 17th Annual INDIEFAB Book of the Year Finalist (Religion) How do we explain human consciousness? Where do we get our sense of beauty? Why do we recoil at suffering? Why do we have moral codes that none of us can meet? Why do we yearn for justice, yet seem incapable of establishing it? Any philosophy or worldview must make sense of the world as we actually experience it. We need to explain how we can discern qualities such

From Jesus to Christ

From Jesus to Christ
  • Author : Paula Fredriksen
  • Publisher : Yale University Press
  • Release : 01 October 2008
GET THIS BOOKFrom Jesus to Christ

"Magisterial. . . . A learned, brilliant and enjoyable study."—Géza Vermès, Times Literary Supplement In this exciting book, Paula Fredriksen explains the variety of New Testament images of Jesus by exploring the ways that the new Christian communities interpreted his mission and message in light of the delay of the Kingdom he had preached. This edition includes an introduction reviews the most recent scholarship on Jesus and its implications for both history and theology. "Brilliant and lucidly written, full of

Simply Christian

Simply Christian
  • Author : Tom Wright
  • Publisher : SPCK
  • Release : 20 May 2011
GET THIS BOOKSimply Christian

A Mere Christianity of the 21st century, coming out as Tom Wright's popularity grows and grows, and at a peak point of interest in CS Lewis. The book provides an intelligent, grownup introduction to Christianity - what Christians believe, and why, how should we live? - with a passionate sense of personal engagement.

Engaging God's World

Engaging God's World
  • Author : Cornelius Plantinga
  • Publisher : Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing
  • Release : 09 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKEngaging God's World

An inspiring guide for developing the Christian mind extols the crucial roll of Christian higher education in the intellectual and spiritual formation of believers.

Natural Signs and Knowledge of God

Natural Signs and Knowledge of God
  • Author : C. Stephen Evans
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release : 27 May 2010
GET THIS BOOKNatural Signs and Knowledge of God

Is there such a thing as natural knowledge of God? C. Stephen Evans presents the case for understanding theistic arguments as expressions of natural signs in order to gain a new perspective both on their strengths and weaknesses. Three classical, much-discussed theistic arguments - cosmological, teleological, and moral - are examined for the natural signs they embody. At the heart of this book lie several relatively simple ideas. One is that if there is a God of the kind accepted

The Gospel According to Mark

The Gospel According to Mark
  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Canongate Books
  • Release : 01 January 1999
GET THIS BOOKThe Gospel According to Mark

The earliest of the four Gospels, the book portrays Jesus as an enigmatic figure, struggling with enemies, his inner and external demons, and with his devoted but disconcerted disciples. Unlike other gospels, his parables are obscure, to be explained secretly to his followers. With an introduction by Nick Cave

A History of Western Philosophy

A History of Western Philosophy
  • Author : C. Stephen Evans
  • Publisher : InterVarsity Press
  • Release : 09 October 2018
GET THIS BOOKA History of Western Philosophy

Plato. Aristotle. Augustine. Hume. Kant. Hegel. Every student of philosophy needs to know the history of the philosophical discourse such giants have bequeathed us. Philosopher C. Stephen Evans brings his expertise to this daunting task as he surveys the history of Western philosophy, from the Pre-Socratics to Nietzsche and postmodernism—and every major figure and movement in between.

The Power Worshippers

The Power Worshippers
  • Author : Katherine Stewart
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 03 March 2020
GET THIS BOOKThe Power Worshippers

For readers of Democracy in Chains and Dark Money, a revelatory investigation of the Religious Right's rise to political power. For too long the Religious Right has masqueraded as a social movement preoccupied with a number of cultural issues, such as abortion and same-sex marriage. But in her deeply reported investigation, Katherine Stewart reveals a disturbing truth: America's Religious Right has evolved into a Christian nationalist movement. It seeks to gain political power and to impose its vision on all

Unbelievable?

Unbelievable?
  • Author : Justin Brierley
  • Publisher : SPCK
  • Release : 15 June 2017
GET THIS BOOKUnbelievable?

No one likes to be told they are wrong; but is that any reason not to listen? Seeking to burst the 'Christian bubble' that many believers find comfort in, Justin Brierley began to invite atheists, sceptics and non-believers onto Premier Christian Radio to unpack and understand the so-called 'unbelievables' of the Christian faith. Now, over ten years later, Premier's Unbelievable? podcast continues to captivate hundreds of thousands of listeners and has even spawned its own annual conference. But how has

The Darkening Age

The Darkening Age
  • Author : Catherine Nixey
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release : 17 April 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Darkening Age

A New York Times Notable Book of 2018 “Searingly passionate…Nixey writes up a storm. Each sentence is rich, textured, evocative, felt…[A] ballista-bolt of a book.” —New York Times Book Review In Harran, the locals refused to convert. They were dismembered, their limbs hung along the town’s main street. In Alexandria, zealots pulled the elderly philosopher-mathematician Hypatia from her chariot and flayed her to death with shards of broken pottery. Not long before, their fellow Christians had invaded the

Divine Sex

Divine Sex
  • Author : Jonathan Grant
  • Publisher : Brazos Press
  • Release : 14 July 2015
GET THIS BOOKDivine Sex

The digital revolution has ushered in a series of sexual revolutions, all contributing to a perfect storm for modern relationships. Online dating, social media, internet pornography, and the phenomenon of the smartphone generation have created an avalanche of change with far-reaching consequences for sexuality today. The church has struggled to address this new moral ecology because it has focused on clarity of belief rather than quality of formation. The real challenge for spiritual formation lies in addressing the underlying moral