Why Zebras Don t Get Ulcers

Renowned primatologist Robert Sapolsky offers a completely revised and updated edition of his most popular work, with nearly 90,000 copies in print Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky's acclaimed and successful Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress. As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether we have leprosy or malaria. Instead, the diseases we fear-and the ones that plague us now-are illnesses brought on by the slow accumulation of damage, such as heart disease and cancer. When we worry or experience stress, our body turns on the same physiological responses that an animal's does, but we do not resolve conflict in the same way-through fighting or fleeing. Over time, this activation of a stress response makes us literally sick. Combining cutting-edge research with a healthy dose of good humor and practical advice, Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers explains how prolonged stress causes or intensifies a range of physical and mental afflictions, including depression, ulcers, colitis, heart disease, and more. It also provides essential guidance to controlling our stress responses. This new edition promises to be the most comprehensive and engaging one yet.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Holt Paperbacks
  • Pages : 560 pages
  • ISBN : 9780805073690
  • Rating : 4/5 from 10 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKWhy Zebras Don t Get Ulcers

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Holt Paperbacks
  • Release : 15 September 2004
GET THIS BOOKWhy Zebras Don't Get Ulcers

Renowned primatologist Robert Sapolsky offers a completely revised and updated edition of his most popular work, with nearly 90,000 copies in print Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky's acclaimed and successful Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress. As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Holt Paperbacks
  • Release : 15 September 2004
GET THIS BOOKWhy Zebras Don't Get Ulcers

Renowned primatologist Robert Sapolsky offers a completely revised and updated edition of his most popular work, with over 225,000 copies in print Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky's acclaimed and successful Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress. As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether

The Trouble With Testosterone

The Trouble With Testosterone
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 16 October 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Trouble With Testosterone

Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize From the man who Oliver Sacks hailed as “one of the best scientist/writers of our time,” a collection of sharply observed, uproariously funny essays on the biology of human culture and behavior. In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, Robert Sapolsky offers a sparkling and erudite collection of essays about science, the world, and our relation to both. “The Trouble with Testosterone” explores the influence of that notorious

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : W H Freeman & Company
  • Release : 30 November 1994
GET THIS BOOKWhy Zebras Don't Get Ulcers

Stress start to feel bad physically, it is not just in their minds. Emotional crises bring on specific physical changes in the body. If those stress responses are prolonged or set in motion too often, the resulting wear and tear can lead to digestive and sleeping problems, cardiovascular diseases, sexual reproductive disorders, and other illnesses. Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers is Robert Sapolsky's provocative, often amusing, look at the interconnections between emotion.

Monkeyluv

Monkeyluv
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 10 October 2006
GET THIS BOOKMonkeyluv

A collection of original essays by a leading neurobiologist and primatologist shares the author's insights into behavioral biology, in a volume that focuses on three primary topics, including the physiology of genes, the human body, and the factors that shape human social interaction. By the author of A Primate's Memoir. Reprint. 25,000 first printing.

Behave

Behave
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 02 May 2017
GET THIS BOOKBehave

Why do we do the things we do? Over a decade in the making, this game-changing book is Robert Sapolsky's genre-shattering attempt to answer that question as fully as perhaps only he could, looking at it from every angle. Sapolsky's storytelling concept is delightful but it also has a powerful intrinsic logic: he starts by looking at the factors that bear on a person's reaction in the precise moment a behavior occurs, and then hops back in time from there,

A Primate's Memoir

A Primate's Memoir
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 01 November 2007
GET THIS BOOKA Primate's Memoir

In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons. “I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

Sex, Murder, and the Meaning of Life

Sex, Murder, and the Meaning of Life
  • Author : Douglas T Kenrick
  • Publisher : Basic Books
  • Release : 26 April 2011
GET THIS BOOKSex, Murder, and the Meaning of Life

"Kenrick writes like a dream." -- Robert Sapolsky, Professor of Biology and Neurology, Stanford University; author of A Primate's Memoir and Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers What do sex and murder have to do with the meaning of life? Everything. In Sex, Murder, and the Meaning of Life, social psychologist Douglas Kenrick exposes the selfish animalistic underside of human nature, and shows how it is intimately connected to our greatest and most selfless achievements. Masterfully integrating cognitive science, evolutionary psychology,

An Introduction to Stress and Health

An Introduction to Stress and Health
  • Author : Hymie Anisman
  • Publisher : SAGE
  • Release : 14 January 2014
GET THIS BOOKAn Introduction to Stress and Health

"This is a highly entertaining book about a very serious topic. Beautifully written, funny and organized in a way that students and the general public will understand complex notions about stress." - Sonia Lupien, Director of the Centre for Studies on Human Stress, University of Montreal "Perfect for my stress and cognition module, accessible and informative, great level of detail." - James Byron-Daniel, University of the West of England, Bristol An Introduction to Stress and Health is the first textbook

Stress-Proof

Stress-Proof
  • Author : Mithu Storoni
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 22 August 2017
GET THIS BOOKStress-Proof

Discover simple, science-based strategies for beating stress at its own game When’s the best time to exercise – and how much is too much? Which foods fortify the brain, and which do the opposite? How can we use music, movement, and motivation to boost our rational brain and keep our cool no matter what life throws our way? Short bursts of stress are an inevitable part of modern life. But how much is too much? Research is uncovering the delicate

Stress, the Aging Brain, and the Mechanisms of Neuron Death

Stress, the Aging Brain, and the Mechanisms of Neuron Death
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Bradford Books
  • Release : 30 November 1992
GET THIS BOOKStress, the Aging Brain, and the Mechanisms of Neuron Death

Looking beyond the now widely recognized relationships between stress and physical illness, this accessible and engagingly written book suggests that stress and stress-related hormones can also endanger the brain. Strategies to reduce stress and methods to protect neurons from further damage are proposed, and the relevance for humans of the animal research findings are clearly delineated. Sapolsky provides an extensive review of the recent, exciting data on glucocorticoids, the adrenal steroid hormones (hydrocortisone or cortisol in humans) that are released

Science and the Navy

Science and the Navy
  • Author : Harvey M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Princeton University Press
  • Release : 14 July 2014
GET THIS BOOKScience and the Navy

Addressing all those interested in the history of American science and concerned with its future, a leading scholar of public policy explains how and why the Office of Naval Research became the first federal agency to support a wide range of scientific work in universities. Harvey Sapolsky shows that the ONR functioned as a "surrogate national science foundation" between 1946 and 1950 and argues that its activities emerged not from any particularly enlightened position but largely from a bureaucratic accident. Once involved

Body by Darwin

Body by Darwin
  • Author : Jeremy Taylor
  • Publisher : University of Chicago Press
  • Release : 22 October 2015
GET THIS BOOKBody by Darwin

We think of medical science and doctors as focused on treating conditions—whether it’s a cough or an aching back. But the sicknesses and complaints that cause us to seek medical attention actually have deeper origins than the superficial germs and behaviors we regularly fault. In fact, as Jeremy Taylor shows in Body by Darwin, we can trace the roots of many medical conditions through our evolutionary history, revealing what has made us susceptible to certain illnesses and ailments