Why Zebras Don t Get Ulcers

Renowned primatologist Robert Sapolsky offers a completely revised and updated edition of his most popular work, with over 225,000 copies in print Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky's acclaimed and successful Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress. As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether we have leprosy or malaria. Instead, the diseases we fear-and the ones that plague us now-are illnesses brought on by the slow accumulation of damage, such as heart disease and cancer. When we worry or experience stress, our body turns on the same physiological responses that an animal's does, but we do not resolve conflict in the same way-through fighting or fleeing. Over time, this activation of a stress response makes us literally sick. Combining cutting-edge research with a healthy dose of good humor and practical advice, Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers explains how prolonged stress causes or intensifies a range of physical and mental afflictions, including depression, ulcers, colitis, heart disease, and more. It also provides essential guidance to controlling our stress responses. This new edition promises to be the most comprehensive and engaging one yet.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Holt Paperbacks
  • Pages : 560 pages
  • ISBN : 9781429935654
  • Rating : 4.5/5 from 14 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKWhy Zebras Don t Get Ulcers

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Holt Paperbacks
  • Release : 15 September 2004
GET THIS BOOKWhy Zebras Don't Get Ulcers

Renowned primatologist Robert Sapolsky offers a completely revised and updated edition of his most popular work, with over 225,000 copies in print Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky's acclaimed and successful Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress. As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether

The Trouble With Testosterone

The Trouble With Testosterone
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 16 October 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Trouble With Testosterone

Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize From the man who Oliver Sacks hailed as “one of the best scientist/writers of our time,” a collection of sharply observed, uproariously funny essays on the biology of human culture and behavior. In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, Robert Sapolsky offers a sparkling and erudite collection of essays about science, the world, and our relation to both. “The Trouble with Testosterone” explores the influence of that notorious

Monkeyluv

Monkeyluv
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 10 October 2006
GET THIS BOOKMonkeyluv

A collection of original essays by a leading neurobiologist and primatologist shares the author's insights into behavioral biology, in a volume that focuses on three primary topics, including the physiology of genes, the human body, and the factors that shape human social interaction. By the author of A Primate's Memoir. Reprint. 25,000 first printing.

Guide to Robert M. Sapolsky’s Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers by Instaread

Guide to Robert M. Sapolsky’s Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers by Instaread
  • Author : Instaread
  • Publisher : Instaread
  • Release : 10 June 2017
GET THIS BOOKGuide to Robert M. Sapolsky’s Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers by Instaread

PLEASE NOTE: This is a companion to Robert M. Sapolsky’s Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers and NOT the original book. Preview: Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers (2004) by Robert Sapolsky is a thorough explanation of the impact of chronic stress on the body. It describes the many systems and mechanisms that stress triggers, and the ways that those systems and mechanisms can malfunction… Inside this companion to the book: · Overview of the Book · Insights from the Book · Important

A Primate's Memoir

A Primate's Memoir
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 01 November 2007
GET THIS BOOKA Primate's Memoir

In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons. “I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

Behave

Behave
  • Author : Robert M. Sapolsky
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 02 May 2017
GET THIS BOOKBehave

Why do we do the things we do? Over a decade in the making, this game-changing book is Robert Sapolsky's genre-shattering attempt to answer that question as fully as perhaps only he could, looking at it from every angle. Sapolsky's storytelling concept is delightful but it also has a powerful intrinsic logic: he starts by looking at the factors that bear on a person's reaction in the precise moment a behavior occurs, and then hops back in time from there,

Extinguish Burnout

Extinguish Burnout
  • Author : Rob &. Terri Bogue,Terri Bogue
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 25 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKExtinguish Burnout

Who hasn't suffered at one time or another from exhaustion, cynicism, and a lack of effectiveness? But combine them over time and you're flirting with a disaster of catastrophic magnitude--burnout. Elegantly defined as the depletion of personal agency (the apparatus driving our ability to initiate and execute actions) burnout effectively wipes out our ability to be effective, much less engaged. And the cost of burnout is astronomical in all its forms and phases, including the profound and lasting effects it

Crashed

Crashed
  • Author : Adam Tooze
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 07 August 2018
GET THIS BOOKCrashed

WINNER OF THE LIONEL GELBER PRIZE A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2018 ONE OF THE ECONOMIST'S BOOKS OF THE YEAR A NEW YORK TIMES CRITICS' TOP BOOK "An intelligent explanation of the mechanisms that produced the crisis and the response to it...One of the great strengths of Tooze's book is to demonstrate the deeply intertwined nature of the European and American financial systems."--The New York Times Book Review From a prizewinning economic historian, an eye-opening reinterpretation of

An Introduction to Stress and Health

An Introduction to Stress and Health
  • Author : Hymie Anisman
  • Publisher : SAGE
  • Release : 14 January 2014
GET THIS BOOKAn Introduction to Stress and Health

"This is a highly entertaining book about a very serious topic. Beautifully written, funny and organized in a way that students and the general public will understand complex notions about stress." - Sonia Lupien, Director of the Centre for Studies on Human Stress, University of Montreal "Perfect for my stress and cognition module, accessible and informative, great level of detail." - James Byron-Daniel, University of the West of England, Bristol An Introduction to Stress and Health is the first textbook

Think Twice

Think Twice
  • Author : Michael J. Mauboussin
  • Publisher : Harvard Business Review Press
  • Release : 06 November 2012
GET THIS BOOKThink Twice

No matter your field, industry, or specialty, as a leader you make a series of crucial decisions every single day. And the harsh truth is that the majority of decisions—no matter how good the intentions behind them—are mismanaged, resulting in a huge toll on organizations, the people they employ, and even the people they serve. So why is it so hard to make sound decisions? In Think Twice, now in paperback, Michael Mauboussin argues that we often fall

Making Work Visible

Making Work Visible
  • Author : Dominica Degrandis
  • Publisher : IT Revolution
  • Release : 14 November 2017
GET THIS BOOKMaking Work Visible

Today’s IT workers are drowning in nonstop requests for time, days filled to the brim with meetings, and endless nights spent heroically fixing the latest problems. This churn and burn is creating a workforce constantly on the edge of burnout. In this timely book, IT time management expert Dominica DeGrandis reveals the real crime of the century—time theft, one of the most costly factors impacting enterprises in their day-to-day operations. Through simple solutions that make work visible, Degrandis

Stress-Proof

Stress-Proof
  • Author : Mithu Storoni
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 22 August 2017
GET THIS BOOKStress-Proof

Discover simple, science-based strategies for beating stress at its own game When’s the best time to exercise – and how much is too much? Which foods fortify the brain, and which do the opposite? How can we use music, movement, and motivation to boost our rational brain and keep our cool no matter what life throws our way? Short bursts of stress are an inevitable part of modern life. But how much is too much? Research is uncovering the delicate

Walking with God

Walking with God
  • Author : John Eldredge
  • Publisher : Thomas Nelson
  • Release : 19 September 2010
GET THIS BOOKWalking with God

“This is a series of stories of what it looks like to walk with God, over the course of about a year.” So begins a remarkable narrative of one man’s journey learning to hear the voice of God. The details are intimate and personal. The invitation is for us all. What if we could hear from God . . . often? What difference would it make? We have a lot to sort through on any given day. A whole lot to navigate