Wide Sargasso Sea

Beautiful and wealthy Antoinette Cosway's passionate love for an English aristocrat threatens to destroy her idyllic West Indian island existence and her very life.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Jean Rhys
  • Publisher : Anonim
  • Pages : 189 pages
  • ISBN : 9780393352566
  • Rating : 3.5/5 from 106 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKWide Sargasso Sea

Wide Sargasso Sea

Wide Sargasso Sea
  • Author : Jean Rhys
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 25 February 1977
GET THIS BOOKWide Sargasso Sea

Beautiful and wealthy Antoinette Cosway's passionate love for an English aristocrat threatens to destroy her idyllic West Indian island existence and her very life.

Wide Sargasso Sea

Wide Sargasso Sea
  • Author : Jean Rhys
  • Publisher : Penguin Books
  • Release : 06 October 2016
GET THIS BOOKWide Sargasso Sea

A gorgeous clothbound edition of Jean Rhys's great masterpiece of desire and madness in the Caribbean, published for the novel's fiftieth anniversary. Born into the oppressive, colonialist society of 1930s Jamaica, white Creole heiress Antoinette Cosway meets a young Englishman who is drawn to her innocent beauty and sensuality. After their marriage, however, disturbing rumours begin to circulate which poison her husband against her. Caught between his demands and her own precarious sense of belonging, Antoinette is inexorably driven towards

Wide Sargasso Sea

Wide Sargasso Sea
  • Author : Jean Rhys
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 25 February 1992
GET THIS BOOKWide Sargasso Sea

Beautiful and wealthy Antoinette Cosway's passionate love for an English aristocrat threatens to destroy her idyllic West Indian island existence and her very life

"Wide Sargasso Sea" by Jean Rhys as a Postcolonial Response to "Jane Eyre" by Charlotte Bronte

  • Author : Malgorzata Swietlik
  • Publisher : GRIN Verlag
  • Release : 01 May 2011
GET THIS BOOK"Wide Sargasso Sea" by Jean Rhys as a Postcolonial Response to "Jane Eyre" by Charlotte Bronte

Seminar paper from the year 2008 in the subject English Language and Literature Studies - Literature, grade: 2,00, University of Koblenz-Landau (Anglistik), course: Colonial and Postcolonial Literatures, language: English, abstract: Wide Sargasso Sea is one of the best-known literary postcolonial replies to the writing of Charlotte Bronte and a brilliant deconstruction of what is known as the author's "worlding" in Jane Eyre. The novel written by Jean Rhys tells the story of Jane Eyre's protagonist, Edward Rochester. The plot takes place in

Jean Rhys, Wide Sargasso Sea

Jean Rhys, Wide Sargasso Sea
  • Author : Loreto Todd
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 25 February 1995
GET THIS BOOKJean Rhys, Wide Sargasso Sea

Wild Sargasso Sea is Jean Rhys's story of Antoinette Cosway, the first Mrs Rochester of Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre. Set in Jamaica, this work paints a portrait of a young girl doomed by society, the past and the future to become the most notorious madwoman in English literature.

Rochester and Bertha in "Jane Eyre" and "Wide Sargasso Sea": An Impossible Match

Rochester and Bertha in
  • Author : Laura Deneke
  • Publisher : GRIN Verlag
  • Release : 01 November 2007
GET THIS BOOKRochester and Bertha in "Jane Eyre" and "Wide Sargasso Sea": An Impossible Match

Seminar paper from the year 2005 in the subject English Language and Literature Studies - Literature, grade: 1.0, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, course: The Victorian Afterlife, 12 entries in the bibliography, language: English, abstract: Bertha Mason in Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre is a character without history or personality. She is depicted as a mere beast, bent on destroying her husband. The reader knows -and dreads- her from both Jane's and Rochester's perspective. Rochester claims that Bertha's lunacy was the

Rhys's Wide Sargasso Sea as a Hypertext of Bronte's Jane Eyre

Rhys's Wide Sargasso Sea as a Hypertext of Bronte's Jane Eyre
  • Author : Nazila Herischian
  • Publisher : LAP Lambert Academic Publishing
  • Release : 25 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKRhys's Wide Sargasso Sea as a Hypertext of Bronte's Jane Eyre

Hypertextuality provides a comprehensive system of analyzing any relationship between literary texts. It is a generic architext which encompasses certain genres such as pastiche, parody, and travesty. The main concern of this book is parody. It aims to show how a twentieth-century literary work like Jean Rhys's Wide Sargasso Sea can be related to and a parody of Charlotte Bronte's nineteenth-century novel Jane Eyre. The book considers the generic study of both novels focusing on the concept of bildungsroman and

The Postcolonial Rewriting of Colonial Stories

The Postcolonial Rewriting of Colonial Stories
  • Author : Christina Münzner
  • Publisher : GRIN Verlag
  • Release : 01 August 2013
GET THIS BOOKThe Postcolonial Rewriting of Colonial Stories

Bachelor Thesis from the year 2010 in the subject English Language and Literature Studies - Literature, grade: 1,0, University of Leipzig (Institut fur Anglistik), language: English, abstract: Charlotte Bronte's novel Jane Eyre was first published in 1847 in London, at a time when British Colonialism was growing increasingly important for both the provision of cheap labour and new markets abroad. The resulting wealth was crucial for Britain's economic rise and rendered possible the Industrial Revolution as well as an increased amount of political

On the Question of Identity in the Novel "Wide Sargasso Sea" of Jean Rhys

On the Question of Identity in the Novel
  • Author : Julia Straub
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 27 March 2019
GET THIS BOOKOn the Question of Identity in the Novel "Wide Sargasso Sea" of Jean Rhys

Seminar paper from the year 2017 in the subject English Language and Literature Studies - Comparative Literature, grade: 2,7, University of Constance, course: British and American Studies, language: English, abstract: This work focuses on the question of identity in the novel "Wide Sargasso Sea". Antoinette, the female protagonist of Jean Rhys' novel "Wide Sargasso Sea", is struggling with those questions of her identity all her life. As a Creole girl, who lives in Jamaica during post-colonialism, she finds herself caught between two

The Dyzgraphxst

The Dyzgraphxst
  • Author : Canisia Lubrin
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 24 March 2020
GET THIS BOOKThe Dyzgraphxst

Canisia Lubrin returns with a mesmerizing new collection, the follow-up to her breakout book, Voodoo Hypothesis. The Dyzgraphxst presents seven inquiries into selfhood through the perennial figure Jejune. Polyvocal in register, the book moves to mine meanings of kinship through the wide and intimate reach of language across geographies and generations. Against the contemporary backdrop of intensified capitalist fascism, toxic nationalism, and climate disaster, the figure Jejune asks, how have I come to make home out of unrecognizability. Marked by

Dinosaurs on Other Planets

Dinosaurs on Other Planets
  • Author : Danielle McLaughlin
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 09 August 2016
GET THIS BOOKDinosaurs on Other Planets

For fans of Alice Munro, Anne Enright, and William Trevor comes a stunning debut collection from a deeply original writer and observer of love, betrayal, and turning points in ordinary peoples’ lives. In a raw seacoast cabin, a young woman watches her boyfriend go out with his brother, late one night, on a mysterious job she realizes she isn’t supposed to know about. A man gets a call at work from his sister-in-law, saying that his wife and his

The Digested Read

The Digested Read
  • Author : John Crace
  • Publisher : RDR Books
  • Release : 01 December 2005
GET THIS BOOKThe Digested Read

Literary ombudsman John Crace never met an important book he didnt like to deconstruct.From Salman Rushdie to John Grisham, Crace retells the big books in just 500 bitingly satirical words, pointing his pen at the clunky plots, stylistic tics and pretensions to Big Ideas, as he turns publishers golden dream books into dross. In the grand tradition of Tom Lehrer and Stan Freberg, Crace takes the books that produce the most media hype and retells each story in its authors