Wired for Story

"This guide reveals how writers can take advantage of the brain's hard-wired responses to story to captivate their readers' minds through each plot element"--Provided by publisher.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Lisa Cron
  • Publisher : Random House Digital, Inc.
  • Pages : 262 pages
  • ISBN : 1607742454
  • Rating : 5/5 from 5 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKWired for Story

Wired for Story

Wired for Story
  • Author : Lisa Cron
  • Publisher : Random House Digital, Inc.
  • Release : 30 November 2021
GET THIS BOOKWired for Story

"This guide reveals how writers can take advantage of the brain's hard-wired responses to story to captivate their readers' minds through each plot element"--Provided by publisher.

Wired for Story

Wired for Story
  • Author : Lisa Cron
  • Publisher : Ten Speed Press
  • Release : 10 July 2012
GET THIS BOOKWired for Story

This guide reveals how writers can utilize cognitive storytelling strategies to craft stories that ignite readers’ brains and captivate them through each plot element. Imagine knowing what the brain craves from every tale it encounters, what fuels the success of any great story, and what keeps readers transfixed. Wired for Story reveals these cognitive secrets—and it’s a game-changer for anyone who has ever set pen to paper. The vast majority of writing advice focuses on “writing well” as

Story Genius

Story Genius
  • Author : Lisa Cron
  • Publisher : Ten Speed Press
  • Release : 09 August 2016
GET THIS BOOKStory Genius

Following on the heels of Lisa Cron's breakout first book, Wired for Story, this writing guide reveals how to use cognitive storytelling strategies to build a scene-by-scene blueprint for a riveting story. It’s every novelist’s greatest fear: pouring their blood, sweat, and tears into writing hundreds of pages only to realize that their story has no sense of urgency, no internal logic, and so is a page one rewrite. The prevailing wisdom in the writing community is that

The Storytelling Animal

The Storytelling Animal
  • Author : Jonathan Gottschall
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release : 30 November 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Storytelling Animal

Explores the latest beliefs about why people tell stories and what stories reveal about human nature, offering insights into such related topics as universal themes and what it means to have a storytelling brain.

Writing to Be Understood

Writing to Be Understood
  • Author : Anne H. Janzer
  • Publisher : Cuesta Park Consulting
  • Release : 09 August 2018
GET THIS BOOKWriting to Be Understood

Have you ever wondered what makes your favorite nonfiction books so compelling, understandable, or enjoyable to read? They connect with you, as a reader. This book will help you recognize and apply the methods of your favorite writers to your own work. Writing To Be Understood is the thinking writer's guide to effective nonfiction writing techniques, such as: - Using analogies effectively to illustrate unseen concepts - Appealing to the reader's innate curiosity - Balancing humility with credibility For each

The Science of Storytelling

The Science of Storytelling
  • Author : Will Storr
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Release : 10 March 2020
GET THIS BOOKThe Science of Storytelling

The compelling, groundbreaking guide to creative writing that reveals how the brain responds to storytelling Stories shape who we are. They drive us to act out our dreams and ambitions and mold our beliefs. Storytelling is an essential part of what makes us human. So, how do master storytellers compel us? In The Science of Storytelling, award-winning writer and acclaimed teacher of creative writing Will Storr applies dazzling psychological research and cutting-edge neuroscience to our myths and archetypes to show

Livewired

Livewired
  • Author : David Eagleman
  • Publisher : Doubleday Canada
  • Release : 25 August 2020
GET THIS BOOKLivewired

You will never think about your brain in the same way again. The brain is often portrayed as an organ with different regions dedicated to specific tasks. But that textbook model is wrong. The brain is a dynamic system, constantly modifying its own circuitry to match the demands of the environment and the body in which it finds itself. If you were to zoom into the living, microscopic cosmos inside the skull, you would witness tentacle-like extensions grasping, bumping, sensing,

Fake Accounts

Fake Accounts
  • Author : Lauren Oyler
  • Publisher : Catapult
  • Release : 02 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKFake Accounts

A NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS’ CHOICE "An invigorating work, deadly precise in its skewering of people, places and things . . . Stylish, despairing and very funny, Fake Accounts . . . adroitly maps the dwindling gap between the individual and the world." —Katie Kitamura, The New York Times Book Review A woman in a tailspin discovers that her boyfriend is an anonymous online conspiracy theorist in this “absolutely brilliant take on the bizarre and despicable ways the internet has warped

The Plot Whisperer

The Plot Whisperer
  • Author : Martha Alderson
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 15 September 2011
GET THIS BOOKThe Plot Whisperer

Discover how to create stories that build suspense, reveal character, and engage your audience with this ultimate guide to writing. When it comes to writing bestsellers, it’s all about the plot. Trouble is, plot is where most writers fall down—but you don’t have to be one of them. With this book, you’ll learn how to create stories that build suspense, reveal character, and engage readers—one scene at a time. Celebrated writing teacher and author Martha

The Emotional Craft of Fiction

The Emotional Craft of Fiction
  • Author : Donald Maass
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 30 December 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe Emotional Craft of Fiction

Engage Your Readers with Emotion While writers might disagree over showing versus telling or plotting versus pantsing, none would argue this: If you want to write strong fiction, you must make your readers feel. The reader's experience must be an emotional journey of its own, one as involving as your characters' struggles, discoveries, and triumphs are for you. That's where The Emotional Craft of Fiction comes in. Veteran literary agent and expert fiction instructor Donald Maass shows you how to

The Golden Theme

The Golden Theme
  • Author : Brian McDonald
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 13 January 2017
GET THIS BOOKThe Golden Theme

The Golden Theme is the study of writing's essential commonality-the question of what makes writing and storytelling vital to human nature-by award-winning writer/director/producer Brian McDonald.

Hard Wired

Hard Wired
  • Author : Len Vlahos
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 07 July 2020
GET THIS BOOKHard Wired

"YA science fiction at its best." - Jay Kristoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Aurora Cycle and Illuminae "A unique and engrossing yarn." - Pierce Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Red Rising Saga From acclaimed Morris finalist Len Vlahos comes a grounded sci-fi story about a boy who's more than human, perfect for fans of Westworld and LIFEL1K3. Quinn thinks he's a normal fifteen year-old. He plays video games, spends time with his friends,

Don't Even Think About It

Don't Even Think About It
  • Author : George Marshall
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 19 August 2014
GET THIS BOOKDon't Even Think About It

From the founder of the Climate Outreach and Information Network, a groundbreaking take on the most urgent question of our time: Why, despite overwhelming scientific evidence, do we still ignore climate change? “Please read this book, and think about it.” --Bill Nye Most of us recognize that climate change is real, and yet we do nothing to stop it. What is this psychological mechanism that allows us to know something is true but act as if it is not? George

The Art of Immersion: How the Digital Generation Is Remaking Hollywood, Madison Avenue, and the Way We Tell Stories

The Art of Immersion: How the Digital Generation Is Remaking Hollywood, Madison Avenue, and the Way We Tell Stories
  • Author : Frank Rose
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 28 February 2011
GET THIS BOOKThe Art of Immersion: How the Digital Generation Is Remaking Hollywood, Madison Avenue, and the Way We Tell Stories

"A broad and deep look at how electronic media are changing storytelling…Completely fascinating." —Booklist, starred review Not long ago we were spectators, passive consumers of mass media. Now, on YouTube and blogs and Facebook and Twitter, we are media. No longer content in our traditional role as couch potatoes, we approach television shows, movies, even advertising as invitations to participate—as experiences to immerse ourselves in at will. Frank Rose introduces us to the people who are reshaping media