Your Inner Fish

Neil Shubin, the paleontologist and professor of anatomy who co-discovered Tiktaalik, the “fish with hands,” tells the story of our bodies as you've never heard it before. The basis for the PBS series. By examining fossils and DNA, he shows us that our hands actually resemble fish fins, our heads are organized like long-extinct jawless fish, and major parts of our genomes look and function like those of worms and bacteria. Your Inner Fish makes us look at ourselves and our world in an illuminating new light. This is science writing at its finest—enlightening, accessible and told with irresistible enthusiasm.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Neil Shubin
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Pages : 256 pages
  • ISBN : 9780307377166
  • Rating : 3/5 from 32 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKYour Inner Fish

Your Inner Fish

Your Inner Fish
  • Author : Neil Shubin
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 15 January 2008
GET THIS BOOKYour Inner Fish

Neil Shubin, the paleontologist and professor of anatomy who co-discovered Tiktaalik, the “fish with hands,” tells the story of our bodies as you've never heard it before. The basis for the PBS series. By examining fossils and DNA, he shows us that our hands actually resemble fish fins, our heads are organized like long-extinct jawless fish, and major parts of our genomes look and function like those of worms and bacteria. Your Inner Fish makes us look at ourselves and

The Universe Within

The Universe Within
  • Author : Neil Shubin
  • Publisher : Pantheon
  • Release : 07 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Universe Within

The best-selling author of Your Inner Fish traces the unique qualities of the human species to astronomical events that occurred millions of years ago, revealing how the molecular development of human life can be linked to the evolution of the cosmos.

George Gaylord Simpson

George Gaylord Simpson
  • Author : Léo F. Laporte
  • Publisher : Columbia University Press
  • Release : 07 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKGeorge Gaylord Simpson

Focusing on Simpson's scientific contributions, Laporte provides chapters on Simpson's earliest paleontological research through his distinguished Alexander Agassiz professorship at Harvard and his extensive fieldwork for the American Museum of Natural History, where he developed the core themes set forth in his most prestigious work, Tempo and Mode in Evolution

What a Fish Knows

What a Fish Knows
  • Author : Jonathan Balcombe
  • Publisher : Scientific American / Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • Release : 07 June 2016
GET THIS BOOKWhat a Fish Knows

A New York Times Bestseller Do fishes think? Do they really have three-second memories? And can they recognize the humans who peer back at them from above the surface of the water? In What a Fish Knows, the myth-busting ethologist Jonathan Balcombe addresses these questions and more, taking us under the sea, through streams and estuaries, and to the other side of the aquarium glass to reveal the surprising capabilities of fishes. Although there are more than thirty thousand species

At the Water's Edge

At the Water's Edge
  • Author : Carl Zimmer
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 26 August 2014
GET THIS BOOKAt the Water's Edge

Everybody Out of the Pond At the Water's Edge will change the way you think about your place in the world. The awesome journey of life's transformation from the first microbes 4 billion years ago to Homo sapiens today is an epic that we are only now beginning to grasp. Magnificent and bizarre, it is the story of how we got here, what we left behind, and what we brought with us. We all know about evolution, but it still seems

Why Evolution is True

Why Evolution is True
  • Author : Jerry A. Coyne
  • Publisher : OUP Oxford
  • Release : 14 January 2010
GET THIS BOOKWhy Evolution is True

For all the discussion in the media about creationism and 'Intelligent Design', virtually nothing has been said about the evidence in question - the evidence for evolution by natural selection. Yet, as this succinct and important book shows, that evidence is vast, varied, and magnificent, and drawn from many disparate fields of science. The very latest research is uncovering a stream of evidence revealing evolution in action - from the actual observation of a species splitting into two, to new

Your Inner Fish: A Journey Into the 3.5-Billion-Year History of the Human Body /.

Your Inner Fish: A Journey Into the 3.5-Billion-Year History of the Human Body /.
  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 07 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKYour Inner Fish: A Journey Into the 3.5-Billion-Year History of the Human Body /.

Neil Shubin, a leading paleontologist and professor of anatomy who discovered Tiktaalik--the "missing link" that made headlines around the world in April 2006--tells the story of evolution by tracing the organs of the human body back millions of years, long before the first creatures walked the earth. By examining fossils and DNA, Shubin shows us that our hands actually resemble fish fins, our head is organized like that of a long-extinct jawless fish, and major parts of our genome look

The Making of the Fittest: DNA and the Ultimate Forensic Record of Evolution

The Making of the Fittest: DNA and the Ultimate Forensic Record of Evolution
  • Author : Sean B. Carroll
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 17 September 2007
GET THIS BOOKThe Making of the Fittest: DNA and the Ultimate Forensic Record of Evolution

A geneticist discusses the role of DNA in the evolution of life on Earth, explaining how an analysis of DNA reveals a complete record of the events that have shaped each species and how it provides evidence of the validity of the theory of evolution.

Encyclopedia of the Sea

Encyclopedia of the Sea
  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Knopf
  • Release : 07 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKEncyclopedia of the Sea

A comprehensive reference to the life and lore of the sea examines the diverse creatures that make the seas their home, the mysteries of marine geography, and the stories of seafarers and the development of the tools of navigation.

Human Errors

Human Errors
  • Author : Nathan H. Lents
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release : 01 May 2018
GET THIS BOOKHuman Errors

An illuminating, entertaining tour of the physical imperfections that make us human We humans like to think of ourselves as highly evolved creatures. But if we are supposedly evolution’s greatest creation, why do we have such bad knees? Why do we catch head colds so often—two hundred times more often than a dog does? How come our wrists have so many useless bones? Why is the vast majority of our genetic code pointless? And are we really supposed

Exercised

Exercised
  • Author : Daniel Lieberman
  • Publisher : Pantheon
  • Release : 05 January 2021
GET THIS BOOKExercised

If exercise is healthy (so good for you!), why do many people dislike or avoid it? These engaging stories and explanations will revolutionize the way you think about exercising--not to mention sitting, sleeping, sprinting, weight lifting, playing, fighting, walking, jogging, and even dancing. "Strikes a perfect balance of scholarship, wit, and enthusiasm." --Bill Bryson, New York Times best-selling author of The Body · If we are born to walk and run, why do most of us take it easy whenever possible? ·

Inside Your Outside

Inside Your Outside
  • Author : Tish Rabe
  • Publisher : Random House Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 18 June 2019
GET THIS BOOKInside Your Outside

The Cat in the Hat takes Sally and Dick for a ride through the human body where they visit the right and left sides of the brain, meet the Feletons from far off Fadin (when they stand in the sun you can see through their skin), scuba dive through the blood system, follow food and water through the digestive tract, and a whole lot more!

Discovering Fossil Fishes

Discovering Fossil Fishes
  • Author : John G. Maisey
  • Publisher : Basic Books (AZ)
  • Release : 07 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKDiscovering Fossil Fishes

A natural history of the first vertebrates traces the evolution of fishes over the course of five hundred million years, describing the discovery of their fossil remains and explaining what these ancient animals reveal about the human race. Reprint.

Footprints

Footprints
  • Author : David Farrier
  • Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • Release : 03 March 2020
GET THIS BOOKFootprints

A profound meditation on climate change and the Anthropocene and an urgent search for the fossils—industrial, chemical, geological—that humans are leaving behind What will the world look like in ten thousand years—or ten million? What kinds of stories will be told about us? In Footprints: In Search of Future Fossils, the award-winning author David Farrier explores the traces we will leave for the very distant future. Modern civilization has created objects and landscapes with the potential to

Zoobiquity

Zoobiquity
  • Author : Dr. Barbara N. Horowitz,Kathryn Bowers
  • Publisher : Doubleday Canada
  • Release : 12 June 2012
GET THIS BOOKZoobiquity

Engaging science writing that bravely approaches a new frontier in medical science and offers a whole new way of looking at the deep kinship between animals and human beings. Zoobiquity: a species-spanning approach to medicine bringing doctors and veterinarians together to improve the health of all species and their habitats. In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, this is a remarkable narrative science book arguing that animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat,