Zami A New Spelling of My Name

“ZAMI is a fast-moving chronicle. From the author’s vivid childhood memories in Harlem to her coming of age in the late 1950s, the nature of Audre Lorde’s work is cyclical. It especially relates the linkage of women who have shaped her . . . Lorde brings into play her craft of lush description and characterization. It keeps unfolding page after page.”—Off Our Backs

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Geraldine Audre Lorde
  • Publisher : Crossing Press
  • Pages : 264 pages
  • ISBN : 0307780813
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKZami A New Spelling of My Name

Zami: A New Spelling of My Name

Zami: A New Spelling of My Name
  • Author : Geraldine Audre Lorde
  • Publisher : Crossing Press
  • Release : 16 March 2011
GET THIS BOOKZami: A New Spelling of My Name

“ZAMI is a fast-moving chronicle. From the author’s vivid childhood memories in Harlem to her coming of age in the late 1950s, the nature of Audre Lorde’s work is cyclical. It especially relates the linkage of women who have shaped her . . . Lorde brings into play her craft of lush description and characterization. It keeps unfolding page after page.”—Off Our Backs

The Collected Poems of Audre Lorde

The Collected Poems of Audre Lorde
  • Author : Audre Lorde
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 17 February 2000
GET THIS BOOKThe Collected Poems of Audre Lorde

A complete collection—over 300 poems—from one of this country's most influential poets. "These are poems which blaze and pulse on the page."—Adrienne Rich "The first declaration of a black, lesbian feminist identity took place in these poems, and set the terms—beautifully, forcefully—for contemporary multicultural and pluralist debate."—Publishers Weekly "This is an amazing collection of poetry by . . . one of our best contemporary poets. . . . Her poems are powerful, often political, always lyrical and profoundly moving."—Chuckanut Reader

Histories of the Transgender Child

Histories of the Transgender Child
  • Author : Julian Gill-Peterson
  • Publisher : U of Minnesota Press
  • Release : 23 October 2018
GET THIS BOOKHistories of the Transgender Child

A groundbreaking twentieth-century history of transgender children With transgender rights front and center in American politics, media, and culture, the pervasive myth still exists that today’s transgender children are a brand new generation—pioneers in a field of new obstacles and hurdles. Histories of the Transgender Child shatters this myth, uncovering a previously unknown twentieth-century history when transgender children not only existed but preexisted the term transgender and its predecessors, playing a central role in the medicalization of trans

Stokely Speaks

Stokely Speaks
  • Author : Stokely Carmichael (Kwame Ture)
  • Publisher : Chicago Review Press
  • Release : 01 February 2007
GET THIS BOOKStokely Speaks

In the speeches and articles collected in this book, the black activist, organizer, and freedom fighter Stokely Carmichael traces the dramatic changes in his own consciousness and that of black Americans that took place during the evolving movements of Civil Rights, Black Power, and Pan-Africanism. Unique in his belief that the destiny of African Americans could not be separated from that of oppressed people the world over, Carmichael's Black Power principles insisted that blacks resist white brainwashing and redefine themselves.

The Black Unicorn

The Black Unicorn
  • Author : Audre Lorde
  • Publisher : W W Norton & Company Incorporated
  • Release : 09 March 1995
GET THIS BOOKThe Black Unicorn

Rich continues: "Refusing to be circumscribed by any simple identity, Audre Lorde writes as a Black woman, a mother, a daughter, a Lesbian, a feminist, a visionary; poems of elemental wildness and healing, nightmare and lucidity. Her rhythms and accents have the timelessness of a poetry which extends beyond white Western politics, beyond the anger and wisdom of Black America, beyond the North American earth, to Abomey and the Dahomeyan Amazons. These are poems nourished in an oral tradition, which

Undersong

Undersong
  • Author : Audre Lorde
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton
  • Release : 09 March 1992
GET THIS BOOKUndersong

Features poems that affirm the conflicts, fears, and hopes of the poet in words conveying vision and courage

Women and Race in Contemporary U.S. Writing

Women and Race in Contemporary U.S. Writing
  • Author : K. Lynch Reames
  • Publisher : Springer
  • Release : 08 January 2007
GET THIS BOOKWomen and Race in Contemporary U.S. Writing

This study discovers how contemporary writers have imagined possible relationships between African American and white women that overcome the stereotypical patterns of racism, using novels and autobiographies and focusing on works by William Faulkner, Lillian Hellman, Audre Lorde, Kaye Gibbons, Elizabeth Cox, Sherley Anne Wiliams, and Toni Morrison

Coal

Coal
  • Author : Audre Lorde
  • Publisher : W W Norton & Company Incorporated
  • Release : 09 March 1996
GET THIS BOOKCoal

One of the earliest collections of poems by the Caribbean-American writer, poet, and activist includes "The Woman Thing," "Summer Oracle," and "Spring People."

White Feminism

White Feminism
  • Author : Koa Beck
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 05 January 2021
GET THIS BOOKWhite Feminism

A timely and impassioned exploration of how our society has commodified feminism and continues to systemically shut out women of color—perfect for fans of White Fragility and Good and Mad. Join the important conversation about race, empowerment, and inclusion in the United States with this powerful new feminist classic and rousing call for change. Koa Beck, writer and former editor-in-chief of Jezebel, boldly examines the history of feminism, from the true mission of the suffragettes to the rise of

A Burst of Light

A Burst of Light
  • Author : Audre Lorde
  • Publisher : Courier Dover Publications
  • Release : 13 September 2017
GET THIS BOOKA Burst of Light

Moving, incisive, and enduringly relevant writings by the African-American poet and feminist include her thoughts on the radical implications of self-care and living with cancer as well as essays on racism, lesbian culture, and political activism.